Last Thursday, I appeared in DuPage County for my client who was charged with Retail Theft. He was accused of taking protein powder without paying for the item. What really happened is that my client paid $50.00, (the price with tax was $49.95) and left without a receipt. The store clerk pocketed the money. The…Details
In Illinois, if you are stopped by the police and they request your name, address, or date of birth, you are required to give that information to the officer. This is true whether you are being arrested, briefly detained (for example, a traffic stop) or questioned as a witness. If you give the officer a false…Details
I just completed a trial in DeKalb County (Sycamore, Illinois), where my client was stopped by an Illinois State Police Trooper at 1:47a.m. for driving 87mph in a 65mph zone and driving with one headlight. The Illinois State Police trooper testified that my client had a very strong smell of alcohol, very red and blood…Details
Yesterday, I appeared for a client who was charged with his 3rd DUI. The case could have been upgraded to a felony but I was able to prevent it by the way I approached the case with the prosecutor. Specifically, I let the state’s attorney know right away that we were simply going to watch…Details
Cook County greed strikes again! Cook County is getting ready to charge for parking at the courthouses located at Bridgview, Maywood, Rolling Meadows and Markham. The last month there has been concrete work on the parking lots- – installing center islands at the entry of the parking lots. I was told by a Cook County…Details
What should you say when the police want to talk to you?
Tell them you want to speak to an attorney and NOTHING ELSE.
If you did not do anything wrong, still tell them you want to speak to an attorney.
When a person is arrested and charged with a crime, (DUI, theft, resisting arrest, etc) they want to see the police report and any video evidence as soon as possible. The actual police reports and video evidence is usually tendered on the first court date. It is sometimes possible to obtain the police report and…Details
When you are arrested for a DUI the police will tow your vehicle, this is true even if your vehicle is parked in a safe location and not in the middle of the street. The reason they do this is to get your money from you. The towing charge is usually over $100. but the…Details
In Illinois the use of an electronic devise to compose, send or receive a message (texting) while driving is against the law. Anybody who has texted and driven at the same time can appreciate the danger involved, as driving a motor vehicle requires you to keep your eyes directed at the road ahead and looking…Details