In reviewing a DUI arrest, the first question is why did the police officer pull you over. It is an important question because a police officer cannot pull you over just to see why your driving at 2:00a.m. The officer has to witness a specific violation. Most DUI stops occur because of “improper lane usage”…Details
Getting a DUI on private property is possible. The DUI laws are written that you can be charged with driving under the influence anywhere in the State of Illinois. Therefore, if you drank too much and were using a riding mower or snow machine (snow mobile), it is possible to be charged with driving (your…Details
Today I was in Court at the Courthouse located in Maywood, Illinois (Maybrook) the 4th District. I decided to continue a hearing on a Statutory Summary Suspension because the Judge had a very full call and by demanding the hearing, it would keep the Judge in Court past 4:00p.m. and it was clear he wanted…Details
When a person is arrested there are police reports which the police officer is required to fill out. They consist of a detailed account of what occurred. The reports also contain an “Alcohol Influence Report” which detailed how well or poorly you performed on the field sobriety tests, (FST). In some cases there may also…Details
This is the new blog for The Law Office of Michael J. Young.
In most criminal cases, if the officer fails to appear in court on a court date, your case will not be dismissed. A DUI case, driving on a suspended license case, are misdemeanor case. Both misdemeanor and felony cases require that you are provided with a trial within 160 days, 140 days if your in…Details
Once you lose your driver’s license, getting your license back has to be done through the Illinois Secretary of State’s Office. Depending on the circumstances, you will need either an informal hearing or a formal hearing. The subject of the hearing, the testimony and evidence that has to be presented is based upon the reason…Details
There are two types of Secretary of State hearings: informal and formal. Formal hearings have to be reqested in writing, require a $50.00 fee and are scheduled 5-7 weeks after receipt of the written request. There are only four locations for formal hearings in Illinois: Chicago, Joliet, Mt. Vernon and Springfield. Informal hearings do not…Details
There are dozens of reasons a person can have a suspended or revoked license. Each case is unique and requires different steps to get the driver license reinstated.
I cannot explore each possibility here but will speak you and give you specific information about your case free of charge.
The first court date after a DUI arrest occurs approximately 30 days after the day of arrest. The court date is set on the arresting police officer’s “key.” Every officer is given a “key.” For example, the key of “W” will stand for the second Tuesday and fourth Monday of every month. The officer is…Details